Sun Home Sauna Review: What Sun Home's Own Documents Say

By Evan Reid, with research from the HPG Research Team · Updated Oct. 17, 2026

Drop your keys in the bowl on a dark February weeknight and walk barefoot to the sauna in your own house. Tonight there's no 20-minute drive to the gym.

For an indoor room, the pick in this Sun Home sauna review is the Equinox 2, at $6,099 on sale as of September 27, 2026 (regular $6,799). It's the only full-spectrum Sun Home line on a dedicated 120V, 20 amp circuit, so there's no twist-lock or 240V line to add. Outdoors, the Luminar 2 is the plug-in pick.

Settle one line before you pay. Sun Home's documents disagree in more than 30 places, starting with a "Limited Lifetime Warranty" its warranty page defines as up to seven years on cabinetry and heaters. For the Equinox and Solstice, the current lines don't say whether labor is covered, so get that in writing first.

On September 26, 2026, we read Sun Home's 20 product pages, 41 spec sheets, manuals and assembly guides, and its warranty, shipping and return policies.


Decision summary

Choose the exact model and get an electrician's quote first. Once the crate is open, there is no return.

Best for
A dry indoor room, or an outdoor pad for the Luminar or Solaris, with a dedicated circuit ready.
Avoid if
You need a standard 15 amp outlet, or it's for a short-term rental (lifetime coverage is residential only).
Our read
Spec sheets give exact circuits, clearances and weights, but Sun Home's documents disagree in more than 30 places. Get answers in writing.
Main compromise
Delivery is curbside. You assemble it or book an installer separately.
What it needs installed
A dedicated circuit by model, from 120V, 20 amp up to hardwired 240V, 40 amp. A GFCI on the infrared cabins. Keep it five feet from any cold plunge, shower or tub.
Real cost
As of October 5, 2026, the regular price is $5,599 (Solstice 1) to $46,199 (Solaris 6), and a sale was running. Add the electrician's work.
Warranty and returns
Up to seven years on cabinetry and heaters. Labor and shipping for 90 days on the Eclipse, Pod and Luminar. Returns: unopened, within 30 days, 25% fee plus freight both ways. Made-to-order traditional saunas are non-refundable.

Check the current price at Sun Home

Based on the maker's own documents. Prices as of October 5, 2026.

Which Sun Home sauna to get: sizes, circuits and prices

Pick by circuit first, then by size. Sun Home sells 15 saunas in seven lines: the far-infrared Solstice and Pod, the full-spectrum Equinox, Eclipse and Luminar, and the traditional Nova and Solaris with HUUM heaters. Its spec sheets give the outside size and the circuit for all 15 of its saunas.

Find the circuit you can run in the fifth column, then check the outside size against your spot.

On a phone, swipe the table to see every column.

ModelWhereOutside W x D x HAssembled weightCircuit and plugSale price as of Sept. 27, 2026 (regular)
Solstice 1Indoor37.8 x 39.8 x 77.7 in428 lb120V, 20A, NEMA 5-20P$4,999 ($5,599)
Solstice 2Indoor50.9 x 45.9 x 77.7 in522 lb120V, 20A, NEMA 5-20P$5,599 ($6,199)
Solstice 3Indoor62.3 x 45.9 x 77.7 in622 lb120V, 20A, NEMA 5-20P$6,299 ($6,999)
Solstice 4Indoor80.9 x 56.1 x 77.7 in779 lb240V, 20A, NEMA 6-20P$7,799 ($8,599)
Equinox 2Indoor50.9 x 45.9 x 77.7 in541 lb120V, 20A, NEMA 5-20P$6,099 ($6,799)
Equinox 3Indoor62.3 x 45.9 x 77.7 in620 lb (spec sheet), 642 lb (product page)120V, 20A, NEMA 5-20P$6,999 ($7,699)
PodIndoor40.1 x 40.1 x 77.5 in385 lb120V, 20A, NEMA 5-20P$6,599 ($6,699)
Eclipse 2Indoor51.5 x 47.2 x 76.7 in600 lb120V, 30A, NEMA L5-30P twist-lock$9,999 ($10,599)
Eclipse 4Indoor94.4 x 55.1 x 76.7 in925 lb240V, 30A, NEMA L6-30P twist-lock$12,999 ($13,599)
Nova 3Indoor, traditional64.9 x 57.1 x 82.7 inAbout 772 lb240V, 30A, hardwired$11,999 ($12,499)
Nova 6Indoor, traditional78.7 x 68.9 x 82.7 inAbout 926 lb240V, 40A, hardwired$15,799 ($16,399)
Luminar 2Outdoor57 x 51.5 x 82.7 in970 lb240V, 20A, NEMA L6-20P twist-lock$10,999 ($11,599)
Luminar 5Outdoor82.25 x 51.75 x 84 in1,070 lb240V, 30A, NEMA L6-30P twist-lock$13,899 ($14,499)
Solaris 4Outdoor, traditional90.1 x 68.9 x 94.5 in1,697.56 lb240V, 30A, hardwired$36,399 ($37,199)
Solaris 6Outdoor, traditional90.1 x 90.1 x 94.5 in1,873.93 lb240V, 40A, hardwired$45,399 ($46,199)

Sizes and weights are from each model's September 2026 spec sheet. Sun Home's overview pages say the Solstice and Equinox heights include 2-inch feet. Prices are Sun Home's sale prices as of September 27, 2026. Sun Home's banner says the sale ends September 28.

Check the delivery route too. Sun Home's Eclipse 4 guide says its largest panel is 94.4 inches wide, and the Luminar 5 guide puts its wall panels at about 82 inches long and up to 7 feet tall. Measure every door, gate and stairwell on the way in against those figures. The Solaris "arrives structurally complete," so its route has to take a finished building.

Checkpoint: the circuit. A dedicated 120V, 20 amp circuit with a NEMA 5-20R receptacle puts the Solstice 1 to 3, the Equinox and the Pod on your list. A 120V, 30 amp twist-lock (L5-30R) suits the Eclipse 2.

A 240V, 20 amp circuit suits the Solstice 4 (6-20R) and the Luminar 2 (L6-20R twist-lock), and a 240V, 30 amp twist-lock (L6-30R) suits the Eclipse 4 and the Luminar 5. The Nova and Solaris need a hardwired 240V supply of 30 or 40 amps, and a standard 15 amp outlet takes no Sun Home sauna at all.

One Sun Home help page still says some models use "standard household outlets." No current spec sheet agrees, so put a new circuit in the budget whichever model you choose.


Glass-fronted infrared sauna rooms in a spa
Measure the room before you pick a model. Photos on this page are illustrations, not Sun Home models.

Picture a Sunday evening in November, the week the pallet came off the truck at the end of your driveway. The Equinox 2 stands in the corner you taped out, 6 inches off the back wall, its plug in the new 20 amp receptacle on its GFCI breaker. You step in and pull the door shut as the heat comes on.

If this is you, get this:

  • Your spot is indoors, with a new 120V, 20 amp circuit: the Equinox 2.
  • You want the Equinox 2's footprint and circuit with far-infrared heat: the Solstice 2, $5,599 on sale as of September 27, 2026, $500 under the Equinox 2's sale price by our arithmetic. See the Solstice 2 at Sun Home
  • Your corner can't take 50.9 by 45.9 inches: the Solstice 1, at 37.8 by 39.8.
  • Your sauna goes outside on 240V: the Luminar 2.
  • You want traditional heat indoors: the Nova 3, once Sun Home answers two questions.
  • You want a finished building in the yard: the Solaris 4.
  • No Sun Home size fits your room: SaunaCloud designs one to your measurements. Get a 3D design from SaunaCloud
  • Skip Sun Home's saunas for now if the only circuit you can use is a standard 15 amp one.

Equinox 2: full-spectrum heat for an indoor room on 120 volts

The Equinox 2 measures 50.9 by 45.9 inches outside and plugs into a dedicated 120V, 20 amp circuit. As of September 27, 2026, its sale price was $6,099 (regular $6,799); budget on the regular price, and count any sale as savings.

  • Best for: an indoor spot that holds that footprint plus 4 inches at the sides, 6 behind and 12 above.
  • Skip it if: your spot can't hold 50.9 by 45.9 inches plus the gaps; the Solstice 1 is 37.8 by 39.8.
  • Main compromise: its current warranty lines give 7 years on cabinetry and heaters but don't state labor coverage.

Confirm before you order: an unattached footnote under those lines describes a 3-year warranty with a "60% warranty of parts and labor" in year 2. The terms for orders before March 2, 2026 say "Labor and technician costs are not covered." Ask Sun Home in writing what your order gets.

If Sun Home won't say, the full-spectrum Eclipse 2 carries 90 days of labor and shipping, at $9,999 on sale as of September 27, 2026. It needs a 120V, 30 amp twist-lock circuit, so tell your electrician before the quote. Its own documents also ask for 20 inches from combustible wall coverings. Order the Equinox 2 after Sun Home answers the labor question in writing.

Check today's Equinox 2 price at Sun Home

Solstice 1: the smallest footprint and the lowest price

The Solstice 1 is the smallest and least expensive sauna in Sun Home's lineup, 37.8 by 39.8 inches outside. It runs on the same 120V, 20 amp circuit as the Equinox, with far-infrared heat where the Equinox is full-spectrum. As of September 27, 2026, its sale price was $4,999 (regular $5,599).

  • Best for: an indoor corner that can't take the Equinox 2's 50.9 by 45.9 inches.
  • Skip it if: the spot can't give it 8 inches behind, the gap its installation guide asks for.
  • Main compromise: like the Equinox, its current warranty lines give 7 years on cabinetry and heaters but don't state labor coverage; it's question 1 on the list for Sun Home below.

Its spec sheet and manual ask for at least 4 inches, while the installation guide says "8 in between the back of the sauna and the walls." Plan on 8 until Sun Home answers question 5. With 8 inches behind it and Sun Home's answer on labor, the Solstice 1 is ready to order.

See the Solstice 1 at Sun Home

Luminar 2: an outdoor infrared sauna on a 240V circuit

The Luminars are the outdoor Sun Home saunas that plug in, where the Solaris is hardwired. The Luminar 2 takes a 240V, 20 amp circuit with a NEMA L6-20P twist-lock. As of September 27, 2026, its sale price was $10,999 (regular $11,599).

It puts a sauna of your own in the yard, on its own pad. Its guide asks for a pad rated for at least 1,500 pounds, a figure it says "covers the assembled sauna and its occupants." Our guide to the best outdoor infrared sauna sets both Luminars beside other outdoor cabins, by circuit, yard and coldest month.

  • Best for: a pad 6 inches beyond the footprint, with a weatherproof GFCI receptacle within 6 feet of where the cord leaves the roof.
  • Skip it if: you can't keep snow on the roof under a foot. Sun Home says it's "not built to carry more than a foot" of snow.
  • Main compromise: the exterior cabin is covered for 3 years, while the cabinetry and heaters carry the limited lifetime line, which Sun Home defines as up to 7 years.

By Sun Home's own wattages, the Luminar 2 draws the full 20 amps of its circuit, and none of Sun Home's sauna documents we read mention the code's 80 percent rule for continuous loads. Ask your electrician whether that changes the circuit, and get the answer into the quote before you order.

In Family Handyman's September 2026 long-term update, the tester's aluminum-exterior Luminar 2 still performs as on day one after nearly two years and two Arizona summers. The unit was offered for testing, and the site may earn from its links.

See the Luminar 2 at Sun Home

Nova 3: traditional heat indoors, hardwired

The Nova is Sun Home's indoor traditional sauna, with a HUUM heater hardwired to 240V: 30 amps for the Nova 3, 40 for the Nova 6. As of September 27, 2026, the Nova 3's sale price was $11,999 (regular $12,499).

  • Best for: an indoor room with 12 inches on the air-intake side, 24 on the other side next to drywall, 20 from combustible coverings and 24 above.
  • Skip it if: the only spot is a recessed alcove, which the product page rules out.
  • Main compromise: the Nova manual says to ladle "water over the stones to produce löyly," while the warranty page says the Nova warranty "is void if the sauna is ... exposed to water."

Both Nova assembly guides also list a clearance for "an enclosed space or alcove," against the product page's "not a recessed alcove." Ask Sun Home in writing about the water and the alcove. No other Sun Home sauna gives traditional heat indoors, so hold the order until both answers arrive.

See the Nova 3 at Sun Home

Solaris 4: a finished traditional building for the yard

The Solaris arrives as a finished building, 90.1 by 68.9 by 94.5 inches for the Solaris 4, hardwired to a 240V, 30 amp supply. As of September 27, 2026, its sale price was $36,399 (regular $37,199).

  • Best for: a level, stable base with 6 inches clear on each side, and a route that can take the whole building.
  • Skip it if: you want the option to send it back. Made-to-order traditional saunas are non-refundable.
  • Main compromise: the two Solaris models carry "3-Year," the shortest warranty label on any Sun Home sauna.

Sun Home quotes "an estimated 3–4 month lead time," yet its product page said "Low in stock right now" for a building made to order. Ask Sun Home for a ship date, a base figure (it publishes none, and the building alone weighs 1,697.56 pounds) and the GFCI guidance its spec sheets leave out. Those are questions 10 and 12 on the list below.

See the Solaris 4 at Sun Home

If none of Sun Home's sizes fits your room, a sauna built to the room is the other route. Our custom infrared sauna cost guide shows what SaunaCloud's own pages say that route costs.

SaunaCloud

Designs custom infrared saunas to your room's measurements and sends 3D renderings and a proposal in 24 to 48 hours. The proposal prices the sauna system; the room, glass, local labor and licensed electrical work are separate, and shipping is a flat $999. SaunaCloud doesn't accept cancellations once an order is placed, so settle the design first.

Get a 3D design from SaunaCloud

Financing on approved credit, per SaunaCloud; the lender isn't named.

Sun Home sauna electrical requirements: what to tell your electrician

Bar chart of the circuit each Sun Home sauna needs, in amps: Solstice 1 to 3, Equinox and Pod 120 V 20 A (NEMA 5-20P); Solstice 4 240 V 20 A (6-20P); Luminar 2 240 V 20 A (L6-20P); Eclipse 2 120 V 30 A (L5-30P); Eclipse 4 and Luminar 5 240 V 30 A (L6-30P); Nova 3 and Solaris 4 hardwired 240 V 30 A; Nova 6 and Solaris 6 hardwired 240 V 40 A. A dashed line marks a 15 A household receptacle.

Sun Home's help-center electrical guide says "Every Sun Home sauna needs a dedicated circuit," and the warranty page lists "failure to have a dedicated electrical wall outlet" among the causes that void coverage. Your model's spec sheet, in its plug or hardwiring line, says which circuit.

  • The receptacle. The 120V Solstice, Equinox and Pod use a NEMA 5-20P plug, and Sun Home's Pod guide notes that "A standard 15A household receptacle will not accept the NEMA 5-20P plug." The Eclipse and Luminar use twist-lock plugs that need a matching locking receptacle.
  • 240 volts. The Solstice 4, Eclipse 4, both Luminars, both Novas and both Solaris models need 240V. Sun Home warns that a smaller Solstice's existing 120V circuit "will not power the 4-Person."
  • Hardwired models. The Nova and Solaris have no plug. They take 30 amps (Nova 3, Solaris 4) or 40 amps (Nova 6, Solaris 6).
  • Cord reach. Indoor cords run 9 to 11 feet. The Luminar's 8-foot cord needs an outlet "within 6 ft" of where it leaves the roof. No current Sun Home sauna document allows an extension cord.

By Sun Home's own wattages, the Luminar 2 and 5 draw the full 20 and 30 amps of their circuits. Sun Home's cold plunge blog applies the code's 80 percent rule for continuous loads to chillers, but none of its sauna documents we read mention it. If a Luminar is on your list, settle that with your electrician before you order. Our home sauna electrical guide explains why that call belongs to your electrician and inspector.

What this means for you: the circuit is part of the price, so get the electrician's quote before you choose between two models. Hand over your model's spec sheet and point to these lines:

  • the plug or the hardwiring, with the volts and amps
  • the GFCI line, from the next section
  • where the cord exits, and how far your panel is from the spot

Does a Sun Home sauna need a GFCI?

For the infrared cabins, Sun Home's current answer is yes: include one. The Equinox page says to "include a GFCI or dual-function (AFCI/GFCI) breaker and check local code," and the Solstice pages say the same. The Solstice installation guides add that leaving it out "will void your sauna's warranty."

Electrical block of Sun Home's Equinox 2 spec sheet: NEMA 5-20P plug, and a dedicated 120V, 20A circuit with a GFCI or dual-function breaker
Image: Sun Home. Equinox 2 spec sheet (September 2026), read October 11, 2026.
  • Pod and Eclipse 2: the spec sheets and assembly guides require GFCI protection, though the Pod product page says only "One plug, one circuit, done."
  • Eclipse 4: the October 6 spec sheet now calls for a "Dedicated 240V / 30A circuit with a GFCI breaker; check local code." Assembly guide v2.2 still asks for GFCI only "where your local electrical code requires GFCI protection for this receptacle location." The owner's manual lists a "Dedicated circuit with GFCI protection." Plan on the GFCI breaker until Sun Home says otherwise in writing.
  • Luminar: GFCI required, with the receptacle in an outdoor-rated weatherproof enclosure.
  • Nova: Sun Home's assembly guides say the HUUM heater manuals "recommend connecting the heater to the circuit without a GFCI breaker." Where code requires ground-fault protection, "the electrician selects the device."
  • Solaris: the spec sheets give no GFCI guidance.

So put a GFCI or dual-function breaker on the quote for an Equinox 2 or a Solstice. A Pod, Eclipse 2 or Luminar gets GFCI protection too, since its own documents require it, and so does an Eclipse 4, whose owner's manual lists it. For a Nova, hand the electrician the HUUM line above.

In a garage, the code sections quoted in our guide to putting a sauna in a garage require ground-fault protection on the receptacle.


A residential electrical panel with rows of circuit breakers
Sun Home's current Equinox and Solstice pages call for a GFCI or dual-function breaker.

Will a Sun Home sauna fit your spot? Clearances, floor load and cold weather

Find your model in the first column and add its gaps to the outside size from the first table before you tape anything out.

ModelSides and backAboveAlso requiredFloor or pad Sun Home publishes
Solstice 1 to 44 in (the Solstice 1 installation guide says 8 in behind)12 inLevel, dry, indoorNot published
Equinox 2 and 34 in (6 in behind the Equinox 2)12 inLevel, dry, indoorNot published
PodNo gap from bare walls; 20 in from wallpaper or other combustible coverings12 to 14 in25 in in front of the doorAbout 650 lb
Eclipse 220 in from combustible wall coverings or furnishings; 4 to 6 in in an alcove12 to 14 in25 in in frontAbout 1,000 lb
Eclipse 44 to 6 in; 4 in from combustible coverings12 to 14 in24 in in front of the doorAbout 1,750 lb
Nova 3 and 612 in on the air-intake side, 24 in on the other side next to drywall; 20 in from combustible coverings24 inProduct page: "not a recessed alcove"; assembly guide gives an alcove clearanceAbout 1,370 lb (Nova 3), about 2,130 lb (Nova 6)
Luminar 24 to 6 in20 to 24 in above the roofPad 6 in beyond the footprintAt least 1,500 lb
Luminar 5At least 8 inAt least 12 in above the roofPad 6 in beyond the footprintAt least 1,270 lb
Solaris 4 and 66 in on each sideNot statedLevel, stable baseNot published (the sauna alone weighs 1,698 to 1,874 lb)

Floor figures for the Pod, Eclipse and Nova are Sun Home's own totals with occupants, from the assembly guides.

What this means for you: the spot is bigger than the sauna. For an Equinox 2, tape out 50.9 by 45.9 inches, then add 4 inches at each side, 6 behind and 12 above, plus room in front for the door.

Two rows deserve a second look. The Eclipse product page sums up clearance as "4–6 inches around the cabin," which fits the Eclipse 4. The Eclipse 2's own documents ask for 20 inches from combustible wall coverings, five times the Eclipse 4's figure, though the Eclipse 4 has almost twice the wattage. Plan an Eclipse 2 around the 20 inches until Sun Home answers question 6.

The Luminar 2 guide says its 1,500-pound pad rating "covers the assembled sauna and its occupants." The bigger Luminar 5 asks for 1,270 pounds, its exact crate weight and only 200 pounds over the empty sauna. At the roughly 200 pounds or more per occupant Sun Home's indoor guides allow, five people put a Luminar 5 above 2,000 pounds.

Have a contractor check a Luminar 5 pad against that number, and ask Sun Home what its 1,270 includes (question 7). Sun Home's Luminar overview page also still gives "4–6 inches behind and beside it, and 20–24 inches above the roof" for both sizes, so follow the Luminar 5's own 8-inch and 12-inch figures. If Sun Home won't say, the Luminar 2 is the fallback: its guide says its pad figure covers the people inside.

Only the Luminar and Solaris go outdoors. The Luminar's product page says "it operates below 25°F, though cold ambient air extends warm-up time," its manual allows 60 minutes or more below 40°F, and the roof is "not built to carry more than a foot" of snow. On winter evenings, plan around that warm-up.


Sun Home sauna warranty: what "limited lifetime" means

Read across your model's row to the labor column; that's where the lines differ most.

LineCabinetry and heatersControlsLighting, glass, audioLabor and shipping
Eclipse, Pod (orders from March 2, 2026)Limited lifetime, up to 7 years3 years1 yearFirst 90 days after delivery
Luminar (same date)Limited lifetime, up to 7 years; exterior cabin 3 years3 years1 yearFirst 90 days after delivery
Equinox, Solstice7 years3 years1 year (glass, audio)Not stated in the current coverage lines, though an unattached footnote under them describes a 3-year warranty with a "60% warranty of parts and labor" in year 2; the terms for orders before March 2, 2026 say "Labor and technician costs are not covered"
NovaLimited lifetime cabinetry, "defined as seven years"; HUUM heater 3 years, elements not covered1 year (fan, light controls)1 year (LED lighting)Nova terms: "replacement parts only," labor not covered; general terms for traditional saunas: first 90 days
Solaris3 years on cabinetry; heater under HUUM's own warrantyNot listedNot listedGeneral terms for traditional saunas: first 90 days
Cold plunges1 yearWithin the 1 yearOlder Pro manual: LED lights and UV-C bulb 90 daysWarranty page general terms: first 90 days; older Pro manual and Vertical manual: parts only; the Pro manual updated in October 2026 points to the warranty page
Sun Home's warranty page: limited lifetime coverage for cabinetry and heaters applies for up to seven years, for residential use only
Image: Sun Home. Warranty Information page, general terms for Eclipse, Pod and Luminar orders from March 2, 2026, read October 11, 2026.

Other terms that change the purchase:

  • Lifetime coverage is residential only. Sun Home's definition of commercial use includes "short-term rental properties," so don't count on it in a rental.
  • Coverage belongs to the original purchaser and does not transfer.
  • The Nova terms say the sauna "must be purchased and used within one year of its manufacture date." Ask for that date before you order a Nova.
  • Some parts "can take approximately 60-90 days" to source, so a repair can leave the sauna out of use that long.

Sun Home's banner puts the lifetime warranty "On Most Models." By Sun Home's own product-page labels, only 7 of its 15 saunas carry "Limited Lifetime," 6 carry "7-Year," the two Solaris models carry "3-Year," and all five cold plunges carry "1+ Year." Read the badge on your model's own page; that's the warranty you're buying.

Two Sun Home blog posts promise more. "Is Sun Home Saunas a Safe Pick?" says "Limited lifetime warranty with in-home technician service," and Sun Home's Redwood comparison mentions "in-home technician visits." Neither phrase appears in the warranty terms.

A third Sun Home post says a technician visit after the first 90 days "is a paid service rather than a covered one." Ask about service before you order; it's question 2 on the list below.


What voids the Sun Home warranty

Most of these are settled on install day, so hand this list to your electrician and whoever assembles the sauna. From Sun Home's warranty page, manuals and installation guides:

  • No dedicated outlet. The warranty page lists "failure to have a dedicated electrical wall outlet," and the spec sheets rule out power strips, extension cords and converters.
  • No GFCI or dual-function breaker on a Solstice circuit, per its installation guides, and no GFCI on the Apex or Cold Plunge Pro circuit, per their manuals.
  • A sauna closer than five feet to "a cold plunge, shower, bathtub, hot tub, or similar equipment."
  • Assembly that doesn't follow the instructions. The Luminar guides add that "Sealing all four corner seams is required to validate the warranty."
  • Water exposure, animals or insects, modifications, and "operating the product outside of Sun Home Saunas' published manuals and guidelines."
  • On the inflatable plunges, a bypassed GFCI or the wrong voltage. Their manuals also exclude freeze damage.

Sun Home sells saunas and cold plunges side by side and suggests pairing them, so plan the five-foot gap before you order either. Mark the sauna's spot on your floor plan at least five feet from any plunge, shower, tub or hot tub.


Sun Home cold plunge review: which plunge fits your floor and circuit

Compare each plunge's filled weight with Sun Home's floor figure, and plan the floor for the larger number.

ModelSize (L x W x H)Dry weightWaterFilled, our arithmeticSun Home's floor figurePrice as of Sept. 27, 2026 (regular)
Cold Plunge Pro78.7 x 33.5 x 34.2 in400 lb150 gal1,651 lb"About 1,650 lb" (manual updated October 2026); older manual, still linked: "over 4000 lbs"$13,999 ($14,599)
Pro Apex71.5 x 30.75 x 60.5 in528 lb180 gal2,029 lb"Over 2,500 lb" (spec sheet, manual); "over 4,000 lbs" (FAQ)$14,999 ($15,599)
Pro Titan92.9 x 36.6 x 40.7 inNot published238 galWater alone: 1,985 lbNot published$15,199 ($15,399)
Horizontal77.2 x 27.6 x 24.4 in15.5 lb tub, 88 lb chiller128 gal1,171 lb"3,000 lbs"$3,999 ($4,099)
Vertical35.4 x 35.4 x 35.4 in15.5 lb tub, 88 lb chiller106 gal988 lb"3,000 lbs" (shared help page)$3,799 ($3,899)

Filled weight is our arithmetic at 8.34 pounds per gallon, without the person. Sun Home's own Apex manual uses the same math, "about 1,500 lb" of water.

All five run on 120 volts with a NEMA 5-15P plug, and Sun Home's spec sheets and product pages call for a "Dedicated 15 Amp GFCI Circuit." Its cold plunge blog says the Apex and the inflatables "need a 20A GFCI household circuit." Follow the spec sheet, and see our cold plunge electrical guide.

A plunge in the plan with the sauna means a second dedicated circuit on the electrician's quote, with the two at least five feet apart.

The floor figures don't track tub size. The smaller Cold Plunge Pro's manual, updated in October 2026, now says it weighs "about 1,650 lb" filled (its older manual, still linked online, asked for "over 4000 lbs"), while the larger Apex's spec sheet says "Over 2,500 lb (filled plunge and bather)," and Sun Home's FAQ page says the Apex "publishes over 4,000 lbs when full."

Plan the floor under an Apex for more than 4,000 pounds, the stricter figure Sun Home publishes, and ask which one applies (question 8).

The Titan holds the most water and has no published weight, spec sheet or manual. Our cold plunge floor load guide shows the arithmetic.

Three more conflicts to settle:

  • Leaving it running: Sun Home's help page says the inflatables "Can run 24/7: Yes." The Horizontal manual says to "Keep the Chiller off when your Cold Plunge is not being used." Ask Sun Home which applies before you plan your electric bill.
  • Extension cords: the Horizontal manual says "If an extension cord is absolutely necessary, a 11-ampere cord should be used." The Vertical manual and Sun Home's electrical guide say never. Don't use one.
  • Pressure: the Horizontal and Vertical spec sheets say "10–12 PSI (do not exceed 12)." Sun Home's Cold Plunge overview page says "8–10 PSI (DO NOT EXCEED 10)." Go by the spec sheet and manual for your unit.

Get the Vertical if a plunge is joining the sauna and floor space is tight. At 35.4 inches each way, it has the smallest footprint of the five, and as of September 27, 2026, it had the lowest price, $3,799 on sale (regular $3,899). Settle the pressure and run-time questions above first. Then ask Sun Home whether labor is covered (question 11): the Vertical manual says parts only, while the warranty page's general terms give the first 90 days.

See the Vertical at Sun Home


Shipping, delivery and assembly: how it gets to your room

Sun Home ships saunas and cold plunges within the contiguous 48 states, and its banner advertises free US shipping. Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands need a freight quote. In-stock items "ship out within 7 business days," and the shipping FAQ puts freight delivery at "About 2 to 4 weeks total."

Sun Home's FAQ says the carrier "unloads the pallet at the end of your driveway, and you are responsible for moving the components to the install location." Room of Choice delivery is a paid upgrade and does not include assembly.

Someone 18 or older must be there, and every box must be opened within five business days, the shipping policy's deadline for concealed damage. A crate you can't unpack right away "must be stored indoors or in a dry, covered area." Line up the help and the dry spot before the carrier calls.

Sun Home estimates about two hours to assemble an indoor sauna and three to four hours for the Luminar. The Eclipse page says its panels "lock together without screws or power tools," but the Eclipse 2 guide lists a power drill or Phillips screwdriver among the required tools, so have one ready. For help, Sun Home points buyers to a third-party installer, Pure Install, booked separately.

Every product page we checked said "Low in stock right now," so ask for a ship date.


Boxed freight wrapped on pallets beside a pallet truck
Sun Home delivery is curbside: the carrier unloads the pallet at the end of your driveway.

Returns, cancellations and restocking fees: what if you change your mind?

You can send it back only while it's still in the crate. Sun Home's refund policy allows sauna and cold plunge returns "within 30 days of delivery if they remain unused and in their original, unopened packaging." A 25% restocking fee "plus outbound and inbound shipping costs will apply, even if your order was placed during a free shipping promotion."

Sun Home's refund policy: sauna and cold plunge returns only within 30 days of delivery, unused and unopened, with a 25% restocking fee plus shipping both ways
Image: Sun Home. Refund policy, read October 11, 2026.

Sun Home does "not accept returns on uncrated, assembled, or used saunas or cold plunges under any circumstances." Made-to-order traditional saunas are non-refundable, and Sun Home describes the Solaris as handcrafted to order.

On an Equinox 2 at its $6,099 sale price as of September 27, 2026, the restocking fee alone is $1,524.75 before freight. On a Luminar 5 at $13,899 as of the same date, it is $3,474.75.

"A 3% cancellation fee applies per product to all cancellations, regardless of product type or order timing." That's $182.97 on an Equinox 2 at its September 27, 2026 sale price, canceled within 24 hours of an in-stock order.

After 24 hours the order is in fulfillment, the 25% restocking fee applies, and round-trip freight may be added. Approved refunds are issued within 21 days of Sun Home receiving the return.

What this means for you: be sure before the crate ships. Tape out the spot with its gaps and get the electrician's quote. If both check out and Sun Home has answered the labor question, the Equinox 2 is ready to order.

See the Equinox 2 at Sun Home


Sun Home financing and HSA/FSA: how to pay

Price the whole job before you choose how to pay. Up to three costs sit on top of the sauna: the electrician's circuit, Room of Choice delivery if you can't move the pallet from the driveway, and Pure Install if you won't assemble it yourself. Get a quote for each one you need.

Sun Home offers Affirm at checkout. As of September 27, 2026, the Equinox 2 page showed "Starting at $212/mo or 0% APR with Affirm." Sun Home doesn't publish Affirm's rates or term lengths, so read the rate and term Affirm offers you before you accept. Its return fees are the same however you pay.

For HSA or FSA funds, Sun Home partners with TrueMed, which it says lets "eligible customers" use those accounts "after completing a brief health survey."


A person working through bills with a calculator
Sun Home offers Affirm at checkout and TrueMed for HSA or FSA funds.

Sun Home sauna reviews: what owners and testers report

Most owner reviews are five stars, and outside testers mostly confirm the heat. The complaints that repeat are delivery waits, slow support after something breaks, and the Luminar 5's seating and assembly. On October 11, 2026, we counted Sun Home's reviews and read the outside tests below.

On Sun Home's own site: 523 reviews, most of them five stars

The 17 product pages in this guide held 523 reviews as of October 11, 2026, averaging 4.91 stars. They sit in Stamped.io, a review app the store runs, which lets the store choose which reviews to request, publish and feature. The stars hide some complaints: of the 511 left after removing duplicates, 88 mention a practical problem, and 69 of those still give five stars.

Give the newest pages less weight. The two Nova pages hold 12 reviews, all five stars, and 11 were posted July 20 to 23, 2026, so read them as early impressions. Eighteen of the Solstice 4's 21 reviews come from one block of untitled 2023 reviews entered at about the same time.

Leaving out reviews that make health claims, owners of the main models report:

  • Equinox 2 (121 reviews): 47 call assembly easy and 5 call it hard. Shipping and delivery draw the most complaints (6), and 3 report heat leaking at the glass door. The six owners who give a warm-up time report 30 to 60 minutes.
  • Luminar 2 (58 reviews): build quality (14) and fast heat-up (10) lead the praise. The complaints are delivery waits (3) and hard assembly (3).
  • Luminar 5 (73 reviews): fast heat-up leads the praise (19). Assembly is the top complaint, with times from about 90 minutes to 6 hours, and two owners say five adults is tight. Three say parts arrived damaged and one owner's main power unit failed within weeks; those owners say Sun Home replaced the parts.
  • Eclipse 2 (42 reviews): customer service leads the praise (11). Build quality draws the most complaints (4), including a heater panel that arrived faulty and took a while to fix under warranty.
  • Cold Plunge Pro (36 reviews): build quality leads the praise (13), and two verified owners report 32 to 33°F with ice forming. The top complaint is a unit that arrived damaged (3), each replaced quickly.
  • Solstice 1 (16 reviews), Eclipse 4 (9) and the Horizontal plunge (26): small samples. The complaints are a Solstice 1 wait of over four months, a Solstice 1 glass door broken in shipping, failed door trim on an Eclipse 4, and two Horizontal covers that don't seal or fit.

Off Sun Home's site: BBB and Reddit

Sun Home's Better Business Bureau profile averaged 4.81 stars across 70 reviews as of October 11, 2026, and customer service is the most common praise. Weigh those stars with care. Sun Home became a BBB Accredited Business, a paid status, on December 9, 2025, and 38 of the 70 reviews were posted between November 25 and December 19, 2025. Eight pairs are word-for-word identical.

All three one-star reviews say support was slow or unreachable after something went wrong. In one, a commercial owner reports "a loud bang, visible spark, and smoke" (July 2026); BBB removed the model name. Sun Home expedited a replacement heater, though the owner says she has no full answer on the cause. As of October 11, 2026, the CPSC's recall list shows no recall naming Sun Home.

BBB also lists 13 complaints in three years, 7 of them in the last 12 months. In one, a Luminar 2 had been out of use for 42 days when its owner filed: the power box had failed and the replacement part was the wrong one. Sun Home resolved it with a technician visit (February 2026).

On Reddit, we found 13 posts by Sun Home owners in r/infraredsauna and r/Sauna as of October 11, 2026: 8 negative, 3 mixed and 2 positive. Customer service and warranty handling is the top complaint (9 of 13), then delivery delays (4). People tend to post when something goes wrong, so read these as risks, not a failure rate.

Those owners report waits from about 2 weeks to over 3 months after ordering, and owners on Sun Home's own pages describe three to more than four months. Sun Home's shipping FAQ says "About 2 to 4 weeks total," so ask whether your model is in stock and get a ship date in writing (question 10).

What outside testers found

Four outside reviews timed the Luminar's heat:

  • In WIRED's March 2025 review of an outdoor Luminar 5, a technician Sun Home sent reached 170°F in just over an hour on a sunny day. On damp winter nights, the reviewer's own sessions took about an hour to reach about 150°F. WIRED rated it 5 out of 10. The unit was offered for testing, and WIRED may earn a share of sales from its links.
  • In Garage Gym Reviews' test of an earlier Luminar 5 (video December 2023), it topped out around 160°F, short of the maximum Sun Home lists. GGR may earn money from its links.
  • Michael Kummer says his Luminar 2 hits 170°F in under 30 minutes outdoors (July 2025). That's his statement, on a roughly 80°F day when the black cabin was already about 90 to 100°F inside. He earns from some brands he reviews.
  • In Apartment Therapy's June 2026 test of a Luminar 2 in a small garage, the tester timed about 40 minutes to 170°F. The unit was offered for review, and the site may earn from its links.

Sun Home's manual allows 60 minutes or more below 40°F, so plan outdoor winter sessions around an hour of warm-up.

Over time, the reports are steady. Family Handyman's tester says her Luminar 2 still performs as it did on day one after nearly two years (updated September 2026). She paid $1,350 for its dedicated 240-volt circuit when it went in. The unit was offered for testing, and the site may earn from its links.

The Equinox 2-person that Garage Gym Reviews reviewed showed no problems after many sessions (page updated June 2026; generation not stated). In GearJunkie's September 2025 review, a Cold Plunge Pro got down to 28°F in a Sacramento summer of 100°F-plus days, used daily for about four months with no breakdowns. GearJunkie may earn from its links and doesn't say where the unit came from.

Problems reported on real units, one source each:

  • Two Luminar 2 wall heaters that would not turn on, fixed free under warranty (Embers Fireplaces & Outdoor Living, June 2026). Embers is a retailer, and Sun Home provided the unit free.
  • A 2025 Luminar 2 with its roof marred and painted over in spots (owner video by PJ, December 2025).
  • A Luminar weather cover torn on sharp roof corners. Sun Home told Family Handyman it was a known problem and sent a new cover.
  • Heater panels behind the seat too hot to lean on for more than a few minutes (WIRED, Luminar 5).

Where owners and testers disagree with Sun Home

Confirm before you order: how many people the Luminar 5 holds, and how many it takes to build. Sun Home sells it as a 5-person sauna. WIRED found it "fits five only if they are extremely small people," and Garage Gym Reviews says 4-person would be fairer.

Fortune's May 2026 review calls it a "True five-person layout," though it describes no five-person sit. Fortune says it may earn revenue from its links.

Sun Home estimates three to four hours to assemble the Luminar, but GGR needed five people to hold and join the walls, and owners report 90 minutes to 6 hours. Plan on four adults inside, line up three or four people for the walls and roof or book Pure Install, and ask Sun Home in writing (question 15). If two seats are enough, the Luminar 2 avoids the question; Pure Install built Family Handyman's in about two hours.

Older paperwork in some Luminar boxes said the weather cover was required to keep the warranty. Sun Home's warranty page now says "Choosing not to use it does not, by itself, void your warranty," so get that in writing for your order (question 14).

Four Eclipse 2 owner accounts on Reddit report slow heating or a low top temperature, though one owner on Sun Home's own page reports about an hour to 165°F. One Reddit owner measured about 90 minutes to reach 140°F with his own thermometer (April 2026). He says that after a spring 2026 firmware update, the display read about 10 to 12°F above his thermometer, so ask which firmware your unit ships with (question 16).

One Eclipse 2 buyer says Sun Home assured them it would plug into a standard wall outlet (Reddit, August 2026). It arrived with the twist-lock plug its spec sheet lists, and another owner in that thread paid $1,400 to install the plug. Sun Home's product description also calls its supply a standard 120V circuit, so go by the spec sheet's 120V, 30 amp twist-lock line.

Confirm before you order: who builds your Equinox. One Equinox buyer on Reddit says he received a Sunlighten Amplify2, and that Sun Home told him Sunlighten fulfilled the order (May 2026). Another says his came in an Amplify box with Amplify instructions (September 2026).

Ask Sun Home in writing which company builds the Equinox on your order, and whether Sun Home's own warranty covers it (question 13). Sun Home's official Reddit account names the Pod, Eclipse, Luminar, Nova and Solaris among models it builds itself (August 2026). If you can't get an answer, the Eclipse 2 is on that list, on its 120V, 30 amp twist-lock circuit.

What the reports mean for your pick

Indoors on a 120V, 20 amp circuit, the Equinox 2 stays our pick. Owners on Sun Home's page call assembly easy, and GGR's ran without trouble. Plan on 30 to 60 minutes of warm-up, check the door seal as soon as it's assembled, and get questions 1 and 13 answered first.

See the Equinox 2 at Sun Home

Outdoors, the Luminar 2's outside reports back it up: two reviewers report it reaching 170°F, and Family Handyman's has run nearly two years. Owners also report two wall heaters that wouldn't turn on and a roof marred and painted over, so test every heater and check the finish while the 90 days of labor and shipping coverage last. If you need more than two seats, plan the Luminar 5 around four adults and a bigger crew. See the Luminar 2 at Sun Home


What to confirm with Sun Home before you order

These disagreements between Sun Home documents affect what you buy or how you install it. All were live on Sun Home's site or in PDFs linked from it on September 26, 2026.

Find the rows for your model, and plan on the stricter figure until Sun Home answers.

TopicOne Sun Home document saysAnother Sun Home document says
Apex floor loadSpec sheet: "Over 2,500 lb (filled plunge and bather)"; the manual and help page also say 2,500FAQ page: the Apex "publishes over 4,000 lbs when full"
Cold Plunge Pro floor loadSpec sheet: 400 lb dry, 150 gal (1,651 lb filled by our arithmetic); manual updated October 2026: "about 1,650 lb"Older Pro manual, still linked: "structurally sound support for over 4000 lbs"
Inflatable plunge size and pressureSpec sheets: 128 and 106 gallons; "10–12 PSI (do not exceed 12)"Cold Plunge overview page: "both hold roughly 80–90 gallons"; "8–10 PSI (DO NOT EXCEED 10)"
Inflatable plunge wiringProduct pages: the outlet "has to sit on a dedicated 15 amp GFCI circuit"Overview page: "on a 15A breaker. No electrician, no special wiring." Blog: "need a 20A GFCI household circuit"
Household outletsElectrical guide: "Every Sun Home sauna needs a dedicated circuit"Common Questions page: "Others operate using standard household outlets."
Technician serviceWarranty page: labor and shipping "only for the first ninety (90) days"Safe Pick blog: "Limited lifetime warranty with in-home technician service."
Cold plunge laborWarranty page general terms, which name cold plunges: labor and shipping for the first 90 daysOlder Pro manual, still linked: "covers parts, but does not cover labor and/or service technicians" (the October 2026 manual points to the warranty page)
Extension cordsElectrical guide: "Never use an extension cord with a sauna or cold plunge."Horizontal manual: "If an extension cord is absolutely necessary, a 11-ampere cord should be used." The older April 2025 Eclipse 2 and Eclipse 4 manuals, still listed under Previous Editions on Sun Home's assembly and shipping page, say to plug into "an AC socket or extension cable"
Leaving the chiller onHelp page: "Can run 24/7: Yes"Horizontal manual: "Keep the Chiller off when your Cold Plunge is not being used."
Luminar 5 clearanceLuminar 5 spec sheet: "at least 8″ behind and beside the sauna, 12″ above the roof"Luminar overview page: "4–6 inches behind and beside it, and 20–24 inches above the roof"
Luminar padLuminar 2 guide: 1,500 lb, which "covers the assembled sauna and its occupants"Luminar 5 guide: 1,270 lb for a bigger sauna, the same as its crate weight
Eclipse wall clearanceEclipse 2 spec sheet: "Keep 20″ from combustible wall coverings or furnishings."Eclipse product page: "4–6 inches around the cabin"
Solstice 1 wall gapSpec sheet and manual: at least 4 inchesInstallation guide: "8 in between the back of the sauna and the walls"
Nova placementProduct page: "not a recessed alcove"Assembly guides: a clearance for "an enclosed space or alcove"
Nova and waterNova manual: ladle "water over the stones to produce löyly"Warranty page: the Nova warranty "is void if the sauna is ... exposed to water"
WeightsSpec sheets: Equinox 3 620 lb; Cold Plunge Pro 400 lbEquinox 3 product page: "642 lbs"; Pro overview page: "a 345-pound integrated system"

A few older problems are fixed. The advice to skip GFCI protection on the infrared cabins is gone. The Apex help page now says 2,500 pounds and calls that "a supporting safety margin, not the measured weight of the unit."

The Horizontal product page now says 128 gallons. The current Eclipse owner's manual no longer mentions an extension cable. The older April 2025 manuals for both Eclipse sizes still do, and Sun Home still lists them on its assembly and shipping page.

Sun Home is revising its paperwork. Installation guides with September 2026 file names carry footers that look like 2023 and 2024 dates, and the Assembly & Shipping Info page links some different editions than the product pages. When two documents disagree, ask Sun Home to confirm the answer in writing.

Send Sun Home these questions in writing before you order.

Pick the ones for your model. Questions 2 and 10 apply to any sauna. Add 1 for an Equinox or Solstice, 5 for a Solstice 1, 3 and 4 for a Nova, 6 for an Eclipse 2, 7 for a Luminar 5 and 12 for a Solaris. For a plunge, send 9 and 10, plus 8 for an Apex and 11 for a Vertical.

From the owner and tester reports above, add 13 for an Equinox, 14 for a Luminar, 15 for a Luminar 5 and 16 for an Eclipse 2.

  1. Does an Equinox or Solstice order placed now include warranty labor and shipping, and for how long?
  2. What will labor and shipping cost after the first 90 days, and does in-home technician service apply to this model and address?
  3. Does ladling water over the Nova's stones, as its manual describes, affect the Nova warranty?
  4. Can a Nova go in an enclosed space or alcove, as its assembly guides allow?
  5. Which gap behind the Solstice 1 applies, 4 inches or 8?
  6. Which wall clearance applies to the Eclipse 2, 20 inches from combustible coverings or 4 to 6?
  7. What does the Luminar 5's 1,270-pound pad figure include?
  8. Which floor figure applies to the Apex, over 2,500 pounds or over 4,000?
  9. Should this cold plunge's chiller run around the clock, or stay off between uses?
  10. What is the ship date for this model?
  11. Does the Vertical's warranty include labor for the first 90 days, as the warranty page's general terms say, or parts only, as its manual says?
  12. What load should the Solaris base be built for, and what GFCI protection does it need?
  13. Which company builds the Equinox on this order, and does Sun Home's own warranty cover it?
  14. Does the Luminar warranty on this order depend on keeping the cover on, as older paperwork in some boxes said?
  15. How many adults does the Luminar 5 seat at once, and how many people does its assembly take?
  16. Does the current Eclipse 2 firmware change the displayed temperature, and which version will this unit ship with?

With the answers in writing, you order knowing which number your room has to meet.


Before you order

  1. Download the spec sheet, owner's manual and installation guide for your exact model from its product page. Note the date on each file.
  2. Measure the room against the model's size plus the clearances above, and every door, gate and stairwell on the route against the largest panel.
  3. Get an electrician's quote with the spec sheet in hand: circuit size, voltage, the exact receptacle (NEMA 5-20R, 6-20R, L5-30R, L6-20R or L6-30R) or hardwiring, and where the cord exits. If the quote is for a 120V, 20 amp circuit and the room checks out, keep the Equinox 2 on your list and finish the steps below, including Sun Home's written answer on labor in step 9: Check the Equinox 2 at Sun Home
  4. Ask the electrician and your building department about GFCI protection and permits. Our sauna permit guide covers what to ask.
  5. Check the floor, pad or deck against the larger of Sun Home's figure and your own arithmetic, especially for the Luminar 5 and any cold plunge. Outdoors, Sun Home's Luminar 2 guide says its 1,500-pound pad figure covers the sauna and its occupants: See the Luminar 2 at Sun Home
  6. Keep the sauna at least five feet from any cold plunge, shower, bathtub or hot tub.
  7. Plan delivery day: someone 18 or older present, damage noted before the driver leaves, every box opened within five business days, and dry storage for the crate.
  8. Decide before you click buy. Any cancellation costs 3%, and once fulfillment starts you pay the 25% restocking fee and possibly round-trip freight. Once the crate is open, there is no return.
  9. Ask Sun Home in writing what labor and shipping will cost after the first 90 days, and whether any in-home technician service applies to your model and address.
  10. For a cold plunge, install the dedicated 15 amp GFCI circuit the spec sheet calls for and ask Sun Home whether your model should run continuously.

Common questions

Where are Sun Home saunas made?

Sun Home's help center says its saunas are "designed and engineered in California," with components "sourced globally and assembled in Asia." The Solaris is the exception: Sun Home says each one is "handcrafted to order in Europe."

Can you plug a Sun Home sauna into a regular outlet?

No. Every Sun Home sauna spec sheet calls for a dedicated circuit. The Solstice 1 to 3, Equinox and Pod use a 20 amp NEMA 5-20P plug that Sun Home says a standard 15 amp receptacle will not accept. The Eclipse 2 needs a 120V, 30 amp twist-lock receptacle, and every other model runs on 240V.

What does Sun Home's limited lifetime warranty cover?

Cabinetry and heaters "for up to seven (7) years," for the original residential owner. On Eclipse, Pod and Luminar orders placed from March 2, 2026, controls get three years, lighting, glass and audio get one year, and labor and shipping are covered for the first 90 days after delivery.

Can a Sun Home sauna sit next to a cold plunge?

Not within five feet. Sun Home's warranty page says placing a sauna closer than five feet to a cold plunge, shower, bathtub or hot tub "will automatically void the warranty."

Can you return a Sun Home sauna?

Only within 30 days of delivery, unused and still in its unopened packaging, with a 25% restocking fee plus shipping both ways. Sun Home won't take back an uncrated, assembled or used sauna, and made-to-order traditional saunas are non-refundable.


Your next step

Tonight, tape out your model's outside size plus its clearances where the sauna will go, and photograph your electrical panel for the electrician. The free Home Performance Room Planner walks you through each measurement, including the delivery route and the clearances, before you commit.

If you're weighing Sun Home against a traditional cedar sauna at a lower sticker price, read Sun Home vs Redwood Outdoors. It sets both brands' documents side by side, down to the circuit, the pad weight and the return terms. To see the Luminar 5 beside six other backyard saunas, our best outdoor sauna guide lines up all seven by circuit, headroom and price.

Get the free Home Performance Room Planner

We read Sun Home's own documents, checked September 2026, and did not test these saunas and cold plunges. This is general information, not electrical, code or medical advice, so confirm the details for your model with Sun Home and a licensed electrician. Home Performance Guide earns a commission on our Sun Home and SaunaCloud links, at no extra cost to you. Links to other sites earn us nothing (affiliate disclosure, editorial standards).

Get the Room Planner.

Thirteen measurements to take before you buy sauna or recovery equipment, with the manufacturer specs and code references behind each one. Free. Planning a golf simulator instead? There is a twelve-measurement golf planner too.

ABOUT

Verified buyer guides for home sauna, cold plunge and recovery equipment. Specs from the manufacturers, not from other blogs.