Sauna Heater Breaker Size and GFCI: What Each Maker Says

By Evan Reid, with research from the HPG Research Team · Updated Oct. 4, 2026

A sauna heater's breaker size and its GFCI rule come from the heater's own manual, so they change from model to model. The first evening in a new sauna starts at your electrical panel, so settle the circuit before you pay.

For a 6 kW heater, Finlandia and HUUM both list a 30 A breaker, and for 8 kW, Finlandia lists 40 A. Find your model below and get its manual to your electrician before the quote.

The GFCI rule is where the makers split. Harvia, Finlandia and HUUM advise against a GFCI on the heater circuit. Sun Home's spec sheets call for GFCI protection on its infrared cabins, but on the Pod and the Eclipse 4 its own documents differ, so ask Sun Home in writing before you order either.

In October 2026, we read the manual, spec sheet or product page behind every row, and each row links the one it quotes.

Below: your model's breaker and GFCI line, what to confirm in writing, then the picks with their links.


Sauna heater breaker size and GFCI, model by model

Each row quotes the maker's own manual, spec sheet or product page, linked in the last column. Where a maker printed no breaker size or no GFCI line, the row says so.

Sauna heaters sold on their own

Find your heater, then read across to the breaker, the GFCI line and the wire.

On a phone, swipe the tables to see every column.

HeaterRatingBreaker, as the maker states itGFCI, in the maker's wordsWireSource
Harvia KIP60B6.0 kW, 240 V, 1 phase, 25.0 AHarvia: "standard 2-pole breaker," no size printed. HarviaNA KIP manual (by kW, no model code): "30-amp double pole breaker" for 4.5 and 6.0 kWNo. "Do not use a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI)."10/2. HarviaNA: 8/2 past 90 feet; copper with 90 °C insulationHarvia KIP manual, p. 14 and 21; HarviaNA KIP manual, p. 3 and 6
Harvia KIP80B8.0 kW, 240 V, 1 phase, 33.3 AHarvia: "standard 2-pole breaker," no size printed. HarviaNA KIP manual (by kW, no model code): "40-amp double pole breaker" for 8.0 kWNo. "Do not use a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI)."8/2; copper with 90 °C insulationHarvia KIP manual, p. 14 and 21; HarviaNA KIP manual, p. 3 and 6
Harvia Vega Compact BC191.9 kW, 120 V (15.9 A) or 240 V (8 A), 1 phaseNo breaker size printedNo. "Do not connect the power feed for the heater through the RCD (residual current device)/GFI (Ground Fault Interrupter)"14 AWG, min. 90 °C copper; seal tight conduit, no pigtails or plugs in the sauna roomHarvia BC manual, p. 10–11
Finlandia FLB-303.0 kW, 240 V, 1 phase, 12.5 A20 A. "Breaker must be double pole non-GFCI"No. "DO NOT USE GROUND FAULT INTERRUPTER (GFI) ON SAUNA HEATER BREAKER"12Finlandia FLB manual, p. 2, 5 and 6
Finlandia FLB-454.5 kW, 240 V, 1 phase, 18.8 A30 A, double pole non-GFCINo. Same p. 2 line10Finlandia FLB manual, p. 2 and 5
Finlandia FLB-606.0 kW, 240 V, 1 phase, 25.0 A30 A, double pole non-GFCINo. Same p. 2 line10Finlandia FLB manual, p. 2 and 5
Finlandia FLB-808.0 kW, 240 V, 1 phase, 33.3 A40 A, double pole non-GFCINo. Same p. 2 line8Finlandia FLB manual, p. 2 and 5
HUUM DROP 66 kW at 240 V, 25 A. 4.5 kW at 208 V, 21.63 A30 A at either voltageAdvises against. "It is recommended to connect the unit to the mains without a GFCI breaker."Min. 10 AWGHUUM DROP 2.0 US manual, p. 7–8
HUUM DROP 77.5 kW at 240 V, 31.25 A. 5.6 kW at 208 V, 26.92 A40 A at 240 V, 30 A at 208 VAdvises against. Same lineMin. 8 AWGHUUM DROP 2.0 US manual, p. 7–8

Harvia's current KIP manual (Y05-1516 B, dated 08/26) gives the current and cable size but no breaker size. The 30 A and 40 A figures come from the HarviaNA KIP manual on Almost Heaven's site. The HarviaNA manual lists KIP heaters by kW and does not name the KIP60B or KIP80B. Almost Heaven is part of the Harvia group, and that manual says Harvia's own manual takes precedence.

What this means for you: on a Harvia KIP, get the breaker size in writing first.

Finlandia heads its wire column "Wire Size" with no unit, and page 2 of the same manual asks for "proper A.W.G. rated wire size" and "copper wire suitable for 90°C within Sauna walls."

Harvia KIP60B electric sauna heater with a stainless steel body
Pictured: Harvia KIP60B, a 6 kW heater. Harvia's manual calls for a standard 2-pole breaker and says not to use a GFCI. Image: SaunaKits.com

Saunas that ship with a traditional heater

If your sauna arrives with its heater, check the circuit column against the heater beside it, since on a few of these rows the makers' documents disagree.

SaunaHeater and ratingBreaker or circuit, as the maker states itGFCI, in the maker's wordsWire or connectionSource
Sun Home Nova 3HUUM DROP 6 kW, 240 V, 25 A"Dedicated 240V / 30A circuit. Hardwired connection."Relays HUUM. HUUM's manuals "recommend connecting the heater to the circuit without a GFCI breaker"; "where local code requires ground-fault protection on this circuit, the electrician selects the device.""10 AWG minimum"; hardwiredSpec sheet; assembly guide v1.2, p. 7–8
Sun Home Nova 6HUUM DROP 7.5 kW, 240 V, 31.25 A"Dedicated 240V / 40A circuit. Hardwired connection."Relays HUUM. Same notice as the Nova 3"8 AWG minimum"; hardwiredSpec sheet; assembly guide v1.2, p. 7–8
Sun Home Solaris 4HUUM DROP 6 (6kW on the product page), 240 V, "25A draw""Dedicated 240V / 30A circuit, hard-wired by a licensed electrician."Not mentioned on the spec sheet or product page. HUUM's DROP manual: "It is recommended to connect the unit to the mains without a GFCI breaker."Not stated; hard-wired, no plugSpec sheet; product page; HUUM DROP 2.0 US manual, p. 7–8
Sun Home Solaris 6HUUM Hive Mini 9 (9kW on the product page), rated line "240V / 40A""Dedicated 240V / 40A circuit, hard-wired by a licensed electrician." HUUM's HIVE manual for the HIVE Mini 9: 50 A circuit breaker at 240 V (37.5 A); 40 A at 208 V (6.75 kW)Not mentioned on the spec sheet or product page. HUUM's HIVE manual: "It is recommended to connect the unit to the mains without a GFCI breaker."Not stated; hard-wired, no plugSpec sheet; product page; HUUM HIVE US manual, p. 5–6
Almost Heaven Salem (2-person barrel)6 kW heater, 240 V; light on a separate 110V, 15-amp plug-in"30-amp requirement" (product page); "30 amp breaker" (FAQ)Product page silent. The KIP manual on Almost Heaven's site: "Do not use ground fault interrupter (GFI), per UL listing and approval." (KIP heater option)FAQ: "8/2 wire (for runs up to 90' from the breaker box use 10/2 wire)"; heater hard-wiredProduct page; FAQ; KIP manual, p. 6
Almost Heaven Pinnacle (4-person barrel)6 kW heater, 240 V; light on a separate 120V, 15-amp plug-in"30-amp requirement" (product page); "30 amp breaker" (FAQ)Product page silent. Same KIP manual lineSame FAQ line; heater hardwiredProduct page; FAQ; KIP manual, p. 6
Golden Designs Gargellen GDI-8025-01Hybrid: "8.0 kw Stove with built in controls" plus full-spectrum infrared"Electrical service: 240V / 40AMP (Stove & Full Spectrum)"Not mentioned on the product pageNot statedProduct page
SunRay Cayman 400D7"genuine 6kW Harvia electric heater"; "Power draw 8,000 watts"Spec row "220V, 40 amp"; "Requires a dedicated 220–240V circuit, like an electric dryer"; spec sheet "8000 W · 220V, 40 amp"Not mentioned on the page or spec sheetNot statedProduct page; spec sheet
Dundalk LeisureCraft CT Elation (barrel)7.5 KW electric heater optionHeater guide: "Electric heaters need a dedicated 220V/40A circuit run by a licensed electrician"Not mentionedNot statedElation page; heater guide
Dundalk LeisureCraft CT Palmer (cabin)"Recommended Electric Heater Size" 6 KWPalmer spec sheet: "Requires 240v and 30-50 amp depending on the heater." Heater guide: "dedicated 220V/40A circuit"Not mentionedNot statedCT Cabin page; Palmer spec sheet; heater guide

On three rows here, the documents disagree, and each one changes the circuit you'd plan. Sun Home's Solaris 6 sheet asks for 40A, while HUUM's manual for its heater lists 50 A at 240 V. The Cayman pairs a 6 kW heater with an 8,000 watt draw, and Dundalk's Palmer sheet gives "30-50 amp depending on the heater." Plan the Solaris 6 at 50 A and the Cayman at 40 amps, and send the questions in the confirm list below before you order.

SunRay Cayman outdoor cabin sauna
Pictured: SunRay Cayman, sold with a 6 kW Harvia heater. SunRay lists 8,000 watts and a 40 amp circuit for it. Image: SaunaKits.com

Infrared and full-spectrum saunas

Read your cabin's row as one set: the circuit, the GFCI line and the plug all go on the electrician's list.

SaunaRatingCircuit, as the maker states itGFCI, in the maker's wordsPlug or connectionSource
Sun Home Solstice 1120 V, 1,350 W"Dedicated 120V / 20A circuit."Required. "Include a GFCI or dual-function (AFCI/GFCI) breaker; check local code."NEMA 5-20P plugSpec sheet
Sun Home Solstice 2120 V, 2,006 W"Dedicated 120V / 20A circuit."Required. Same lineNEMA 5-20P plugSpec sheet
Sun Home Solstice 3120 V, 2,250 W"Dedicated 120V / 20A circuit."Required. Same lineNEMA 5-20P plugSpec sheet
Sun Home Solstice 4240 V, 2,750 W"Dedicated 240V / 20A circuit." Installation guide: "not found in common electrical setups - may need a transformer to accommodate"Required. Same lineNEMA 6-20P plug, NEMA 6-20R receptacleSpec sheet; installation guide
Sun Home Equinox 2120 V, 1,880 W, 15.67 A"Dedicated 120V / 20A circuit."Required. Same line on the spec sheet. The product page, owner's manual and assembly guide also call for a GFCI or dual-function breakerNEMA 5-20P plugSpec sheet; product page; owner's manual (Equinox 2 and 3); assembly guide, p. 2
Sun Home Equinox 3120 V, 2,250 W"Dedicated 120V / 20A circuit."Required. Same lineNEMA 5-20P plug, NEMA 5-20R receptacleSpec sheet
Sun Home Eclipse 2120 V, 2,820 W, 23.5 A"Dedicated 120V / 30A circuit with GFCI protection."Required. "GFCI protection is required: the dedicated circuit must be GFCI protected."NEMA L5-30P twist-lock plugSpec sheet; assembly guide
Sun Home Eclipse 4240 V, 5,300 W, 22 A"Dedicated 240V / 30A circuit with a GFCI breaker; check local code. Installed by a licensed electrician."Two answers. October 6 spec sheet and owner's manual: GFCI. Assembly guide v2.2: "where your local electrical code requires GFCI protection for this receptacle location, ask your electrician to provide it at the breaker or with a device rated for 30A and the full load of the sauna."NEMA L6-30P twist-lock plugSpec sheet; owner's manual; assembly guide v2.2
Sun Home Pod120 V, 1,710 W, 14.2 A"Dedicated 120V / 20A circuit with GFCI protection."Required. Spec sheet: "with GFCI protection." Assembly guide, p. 8: "the dedicated circuit must be GFCI protected." The product page is silentNEMA 5-20P plugSpec sheet; assembly guide, p. 8; product page
Sun Home Luminar 2 (outdoor)240 V, 4,800 W"Dedicated 240V / 20A circuit with GFCI protection. Licensed electrician required."Required. Same lineNEMA L6-20P twist-lock plug; L6-20R receptacle in a weatherproof enclosureSpec sheet
Sun Home Luminar 5 (outdoor)240 V, 7,200 W"Dedicated 240V / 30A circuit with GFCI protection. Licensed electrician required."Required. Same lineNEMA L6-30P twist-lock plug; L6-30R receptacle in a weatherproof enclosureSpec sheet
Almost Heaven Harmony / Elysian120 VAC; no wattage printed"120VAC 15AMP Dedicated Circuit Required (2-person model)"; "120VAC 20AMP Dedicated Circuit Required (3-person model)"Not recommended. "GFCI protected outlet/circuit breaker is not recommended"Plug-in; no wall adapter, surge protector or extension cordHarmony manual
Golden Designs DYN-6996-01 Elite120 V"REQUIRES 2 SEPARATE DEDICATED 120V/20 AMP OUTLETS"Not mentioned in the manualPlug-in; no wall adapter, surge protector or extension cordManual
SaunaCloud Atlas One (example configuration)6 kW, 240 V single-phase, 25 AExample: "Dedicated 30A breaker." SaunaCloud: "there is no universal breaker size for the Atlas One name"Example is GFCI-protected. "The illustrated example configuration uses a dedicated 240V hardwired circuit, GFCI-protected"Hardwired, no plug; spa disconnect recommendedAtlas One page
SaunaCloud Atlas Outdoor (example configuration)12 kW, 240 V single-phaseExample: "Circuit 60A Dedicated 240V circuit"Example is GFCI-protected. Same wordingHardwired; outdoor-rated spa disconnect recommendedAtlas Outdoor page

SaunaCloud builds each sauna to a project drawing, and both Atlas pages say the electrical figures belong to an illustrated example. Your proposal and electrical plans set the circuit for your build.

Checkpoint: the circuit your panel can give the sauna. If a dedicated 120V/20A circuit is the most you can add, your list is Sun Home's Solstice 1 to 3, Equinox 2 and 3 and Pod, plus Almost Heaven's 2- and 3-person Harmony. On 240 V, the amps decide: a 30 A circuit covers the FLB-60, the DROP 6, Almost Heaven's barrels and, once Harvia confirms it, the KIP60B, while the Cayman plans at 40 A. Settle this first.


Does a sauna need a GFCI breaker? The makers split

It depends on the maker and the model.

On the traditional side, Harvia's KIP manual says "Do not use a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI)," and Finlandia's FLB table says the breaker "must be double pole non-GFCI." HUUM words it as a recommendation: "It is recommended to connect the unit to the mains without a GFCI breaker." Finlandia gives its reason on page 6. If a GFI is used, "the breaker will trip, and damage could result."

Sun Home goes the other way on its infrared cabins. Every Solstice and Equinox spec sheet says "Include a GFCI or dual-function (AFCI/GFCI) breaker; check local code," and the Pod, Eclipse 2 and Luminar sheets call for GFCI protection outright. Almost Heaven's Harmony infrared manual sides with the heater makers: "GFCI protected outlet/circuit breaker is not recommended."

Sun Home's traditional Nova saunas follow the heater maker. Their assembly guides pass on HUUM's advice and add that "where local code requires ground-fault protection on this circuit, the electrician selects the device."

What this means for you: take the GFCI line from your exact model's manual, even within one brand. Where local code disagrees, your inspector and licensed electrician settle it.

Chart of what Harvia, Finlandia, HUUM, Almost Heaven, Sun Home and SaunaCloud documents say about GFCI on the sauna circuit

What to confirm before you order: where the makers' own documents disagree

These are the places where one maker's documents, or two sources selling the same equipment, give different answers. Each line starts with the model or maker and what to plan on until the answer arrives in writing. If your model isn't here, we found no disagreement in its documents, so go straight to the picks.

  • Harvia's breaker size: plan on 30 A for 6 kW and 40 A for 8 kW until Harvia answers. Harvia's current KIP manual says the heater "must be connected to a standard 2-pole breaker" and prints no size. The HarviaNA KIP manual on Almost Heaven's site lists a "30-amp double pole breaker" for the 4.5 and 6.0 kW KIP and a "40-amp double pole breaker" for the 8.0 kW, and says the Harvia manual takes precedence. The KIP60B pick below carries this question, with the FLB-60 as its fallback.
  • Sun Home Pod: plan on GFCI protection. The spec sheet and assembly guide require GFCI protection. The Pod product page says "The Pod runs on its own dedicated 120V, 20A circuit. One plug, one circuit, done." with no GFCI wording. Sun Home's help center shows a dash in the Pod's notes column and tells readers to defer to the product page as "the source of truth." With GFCI on the electrician's list, the Pod's 120V/20A plan meets the stricter reading.
  • Sun Home Eclipse 4: plan on a 30A GFCI device rated for the full load. Sun Home's October 6 spec sheet calls for a "Dedicated 240V / 30A circuit with a GFCI breaker; check local code," and the product page lists a "Dedicated 30 Amp GFCI Circuit." The owner's manual lists a "Dedicated circuit with GFCI protection." Assembly guide v2.2 still asks for GFCI only "where your local electrical code requires GFCI protection for this receptacle location."
  • Sun Home Solaris 6: plan on 50 A at 240 V. The spec sheet asks for a "Dedicated 240V / 40A circuit" for its HUUM Hive Mini 9 (9kW on the product page). HUUM's US HIVE manual lists the HIVE Mini 9 at 240 V as 37.5 A on a 50 A circuit breaker. It lists 40 A only at 208 V, where the heater puts out 6.75 kW. If Sun Home won't confirm, the smaller Solaris 4 avoids the question: its 30A circuit matches HUUM's 30 A for the DROP 6 it ships with.
  • SunRay Cayman: plan on the 40 amp line. SunRay sells it with a "genuine 6kW Harvia electric heater with stones," and the same page lists "Power draw 8,000 watts." The spec sheet's power line reads "8000 W · 220V, 40 amp." The Cayman pick below carries the question.
  • Dundalk LeisureCraft: plan on your heater's own manual. The heater buying guide says "Electric heaters need a dedicated 220V/40A circuit run by a licensed electrician." The Palmer spec sheet says "Requires 240v and 30-50 amp depending on the heater." SaunaKits and Topture list the CT Elation and Palmer, and Select Saunas lists the Elation, so ask whichever one you buy from (question 6).
  • SaunaCloud Atlas: plan on the circuit in your proposal. SaunaCloud's FAQ page lists "Small builds (Atlas One, 1-2 person): 120V/20A dedicated circuit" and elsewhere on the same page says the Atlas One "runs on 120V standard outlet." The Atlas One page's example runs 6 kW at 240V on a "Dedicated 30A breaker." For larger builds the FAQ gives "240V/30A or 50A," while the Atlas Outdoor example lists a 60A circuit. The SaunaCloud pick below starts there.
  • SaunaKits' wiring guide: at 3 or 4.5 kW, plan on the heater manual's larger figure. Its chart lists a 25 A breaker for a 4.5 kW heater and 15 A for 3 kW. Finlandia's FLB manual lists 30 A for the FLB-45 and 20 A for the FLB-30. The chart's 6 kW and 8 kW rows (30 A and 40 A) match the FLB-60 and FLB-80.
  • Seller garage articles: wire the heater to its manual, and ask your inspector about the garage. SaunaKits' garage guide says "A GFCI breaker (Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter) adds extra protection in semi-humid environments like garages." SaunaCloud's garage article says traditional heaters "need a hardwired 240V dedicated circuit (30 or 50 amps)" and to "use GFCI protection in a semi-humid garage." Neither line names a heater model or says which circuit the GFCI belongs on. The heater manuals above advise against GFCI on the heater circuit. Their breaker sizes run from 20 A (Finlandia FLB-30) to 50 A (HUUM's 9 kW DROP 9, and the HIVE Mini 9 at 240 V).
Dundalk LeisureCraft CT Elation barrel sauna
Pictured: Dundalk LeisureCraft CT Elation. Dundalk's heater guide calls for a dedicated 220V/40A circuit for electric heaters. Image: SaunaKits.com

Send the questions for your model before you order. Each one is written to paste into a message.

  1. To Harvia or your KIP seller: The HarviaNA manual lists a 30-amp double pole breaker for 6.0 kW and a 40-amp one for 8.0 kW. Which breaker does Harvia's current manual intend for my KIP60B or KIP80B?
  2. To Sun Home: Does my Pod's dedicated 120V/20A circuit need GFCI protection, as the spec sheet and assembly guide say?
  3. To Sun Home: Does my Eclipse 4 circuit need GFCI protection, as the owner's manual says, or only where local code requires it?
  4. To Sun Home: The Solaris 6 spec sheet lists a 240V/40A circuit, and HUUM's HIVE manual lists a 50 A breaker at 240 V. Which one does my Solaris 6 need?
  5. To SunRay or SaunaKits: SunRay lists a 6kW Harvia heater and a power draw of 8,000 watts for the Cayman. Which heater ships with my Cayman, and which circuit does its manual call for?
  6. To Dundalk or your seller: Which heater ships with my CT sauna, and which breaker does its manual list?
  7. To SaunaCloud: What circuit, breaker and GFCI protection does my design need?
  8. To your inspector: Where does my garage need ground-fault protection, and does that include the heater circuit?

How do you read the table for your own house?

Read the circuit line, and treat a blank as a question for the maker.

Some figures need a second look. Sun Home's rated lines mix circuit size and draw. The Solstice 1 sheet reads "120V / 1,350W / 20A," and 1,350 W at 120 V is about 11 A by our arithmetic, so that 20A is the circuit. Give your electrician both figures.

A "not mentioned" GFCI cell means the document is silent, which tells you nothing either way. We did not turn a current draw into a breaker size or apply a code rule to fill a gap.

The wire sizes are what each maker prints for its own assumptions. A long run can call for heavier wire, as the HarviaNA manual's 90-foot note shows. Our home sauna electrical guide covers long runs along with panel capacity and permits.


Who decides what goes on your sauna circuit?

Your local authority, usually the building department or an electrical inspector, and a licensed electrician make that call. Whether your circuit needs ground-fault protection, and which breaker and conductor go on it, depends on the code your jurisdiction enforces and on the installation instructions for the listed equipment.

Bring the manual for your exact model to both, and raise any conflict between the manual and local code before the wire is run. Hand your electrician this list:

  • The model, and the document its row links
  • The breaker or circuit line from that row
  • The GFCI line, in the maker's words
  • The wire size, and hardwired or the plug type
  • The distance from your panel to the sauna spot
  • The maker's written answers to your questions

Which heater or sauna to get once you know the circuit

Picture a cold evening in late fall, with the yard already dark. The barrel stands where you measured, and its 30 amp breaker has a fresh label in the panel. You step in and ladle water over the stones.

Heaters sold on their own come first, then saunas that ship with one, then infrared and custom.

Finlandia FLB-60: a 6 kW heater with its breaker in print

Finlandia's FLB manual lists the FLB-60 at 6.0 kW, 240 V and 25.0 A, on a 30 A double pole non-GFCI breaker with 10 wire. That's the breaker, the GFCI rule and the wire from the maker in one table, so your electrician can quote straight from it. SaunaKits sells Finlandia heaters.

  • Best for: a 6 kW traditional room on a dedicated 240 V, 30 A circuit.
  • Skip it if: your supply is 208 V and you want the breaker printed for it, since the FLB rows give 240 V figures only and the HUUM rows give both.
  • Main compromise: the wire column has no unit, so read it with page 2's "proper A.W.G. rated wire size" line.

See SaunaKits' heaters and saunas

Harvia KIP60B: a 6 kW heater once its breaker is confirmed

Harvia's manual rates the KIP60B at 6.0 kW, 240 V and 25.0 A, with 10/2 wire, and says "Do not use a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI)." On paper it plans like the FLB-60. The difference is the breaker: Finlandia prints its 30 A, and Harvia's current manual prints none.

  • Best for: a 6 kW traditional room on a dedicated 240 V circuit, once Harvia or SaunaKits confirms the breaker in writing.
  • Skip it if: your electrician won't quote without a breaker size from the maker's current manual; the FLB-60 has one.
  • Main compromise: the only breaker figure is the HarviaNA manual's "30-amp double pole breaker," listed by kW with no model code.

Confirm before you order: ask Harvia or SaunaKits which breaker the current manual intends for the KIP60B (question 1). If Harvia won't confirm it, the FLB-60 above avoids the question. Settle that question, and the KIP60B is ready to order.

Check the Harvia KIP60B at SaunaKits

HUUM DROP 6: one breaker at 208 V or 240 V

HUUM's DROP 2.0 US manual lists the DROP 6 on a 30 A breaker at either voltage, with minimum 10 AWG wire. In the first table, only the HUUM rows give a breaker at 208 V as well as 240 V. Topture carries Harvia and HUUM heaters.

  • Best for: a panel your electrician measures at 208 V, where the breaker stays at 30 A.
  • Skip it if: your room needs more heat than the DROP 6 gives. HUUM lists the DROP 7 at 7.5 kW on a 40 A breaker at 240 V, or 5.6 kW on the same 30 A breaker at 208 V, with minimum 8 AWG wire.
  • Main compromise: at 208 V the DROP 6 puts out 4.5 kW instead of 6.

Compare the sauna heaters at Topture

Almost Heaven Salem or Pinnacle: a barrel on one 30 amp heater circuit

Almost Heaven lists a "30-amp requirement" on both product pages and a "30 amp breaker" in its FAQ, for a 6 kW heater at 240 V. The light runs on a separate 15-amp plug-in, so add an outlet for it to the electrician's list. The Almost Heaven barrels above are listed at Select Saunas.

  • Best for: a 2-person (Salem) or 4-person (Pinnacle) barrel that ships with its heater.
  • Skip it if: your panel can't take a 240 V, 30 amp heater circuit.
  • Main compromise: the product pages say nothing about GFCI; for the KIP heater option, the KIP manual on Almost Heaven's site says "Do not use ground fault interrupter (GFI), per UL listing and approval."

Once the heater circuit and the light's outlet are on the plan, order either barrel.

See the saunas at Select Saunas

SunRay Cayman at SaunaKits: a cabin to plan at 40 amps

SunRay sells the Cayman with a "genuine 6kW Harvia electric heater with stones," and its spec row reads "220V, 40 amp." The page says it "Requires a dedicated 220–240V circuit, like an electric dryer."

  • Best for: a cabin that ships with its heater, on a dedicated 220 to 240 V, 40 amp circuit.
  • Skip it if: 30 amps is the most your panel can give the sauna.
  • Main compromise: the 6 kW heater and the page's 8,000 watt power draw don't match.

Confirm before you order: ask SunRay or SaunaKits which heater ships (question 5), and plan around the 40 amp line until they answer. Once they answer, order it with the circuit already planned.

Check the SunRay Cayman at SaunaKits

Sun Home Solstice or Equinox: infrared on a dedicated 120V/20A circuit

Sun Home's spec sheets list a "Dedicated 120V / 20A circuit" with a NEMA 5-20P plug for the Solstice 1 to 3 and the Equinox 2 and 3. The cabin plugs in, so the electrician's list is one dedicated circuit with a GFCI or dual-function breaker. On the Equinox 2, all four Sun Home documents in its row agree on that breaker.

  • Best for: a panel with room for one dedicated 120V/20A circuit but not a 240 V heater circuit.
  • Skip it if: you're set on the Solstice 4 and have no 240 V circuit to spare: its installation guide calls its 240V/20A circuit "not found in common electrical setups - may need a transformer to accommodate."
  • Main compromise: on GFCI, Sun Home's own Pod documents disagree with each other, and so do its Eclipse 4 documents.

Read the sheet for your model, since the GFCI wording differs between its infrared and traditional lines. No Solstice or Equinox row is on the disagreement list. For the Solstice 1 to 3 and the Equinox 3, the spec sheet is the one document in the row, so go over it with your electrician before you order.

See Sun Home's saunas

SaunaCloud: a custom infrared build when no cabin fits

SaunaCloud builds custom infrared saunas, so the circuit comes from your design's proposal and electrical plans.

  • Best for: a space the cabins in the tables don't fit.
  • Skip it if: you need the circuit settled before a design exists, since SaunaCloud's published figures belong to example configurations.
  • Main compromise: its FAQ and Atlas pages disagree build by build: 120V/20A against a 30A example breaker for the Atlas One, and 30A or 50A against a 60A example for larger builds.

So get the circuit for your design in writing before your electrician quotes. That's question 7 above. With it in hand, you're ordering a sauna drawn for your room.

See SaunaCloud's custom infrared saunas


Before you order

The circuit follows the heater, so size the heater first.

  1. Size the heater to the room. Our guide to what size sauna heater you need runs a 252 cubic foot room through four makers' published ranges.
  2. Save the document your model's row links. Buying from SaunaKits? Ask for the installation manual for the exact heater before the electrician quotes.
  3. If your model is on the disagreement list, send its questions and wait for the answers.
  4. Give your electrician the hand-over list from the section on who decides.
  5. Check panel capacity and permits in what electrical work a home sauna actually requires, and for a garage install, the GFCI questions in putting a sauna in a garage.
  6. Order a traditional heater once its breaker is in print or in writing: the FLB-60 as Finlandia prints it, or the KIP60B with Harvia's answer in hand. Compare SaunaKits' heaters and saunas
  7. Order a Solstice or Equinox once its dedicated 120V/20A circuit is in: See Sun Home's saunas

Common questions

Do infrared saunas need GFCI protection?

It depends on the maker. Sun Home's spec sheets call for a GFCI or dual-function (AFCI/GFCI) breaker on the Solstice and Equinox, and for GFCI protection on the Pod, Eclipse 2 and Luminar. Almost Heaven's Harmony manual says "GFCI protected outlet/circuit breaker is not recommended." Golden Designs' DYN-6996-01 manual does not mention GFCI. Follow the manual for your exact model, and let your electrician and inspector settle any conflict with local code.

What size breaker does a 6 kW or 8 kW sauna heater need?

For a 6 kW heater, Finlandia's FLB-60 and HUUM's DROP 6 each list a 30 A breaker, and the HarviaNA KIP manual lists a 30-amp double pole breaker for 6.0 kW KIP heaters (it gives no model code). For 8 kW, Finlandia's FLB-80 and the HarviaNA manual both list 40 A. Harvia's own current KIP manual calls for "a standard 2-pole breaker" and prints no size. Use the figure in the manual for your exact heater.

What size wire does a sauna heater need?

For a 6 kW heater the heater makers land on 10-gauge (Harvia KIP 10/2, Finlandia FLB-60 10, HUUM DROP 6 minimum 10 AWG). For 8 kW, Harvia lists 8/2 and Finlandia lists 8. Harvia and Finlandia both call for copper wire rated for 90 °C inside the sauna. The HarviaNA KIP manual recommends 8/2 instead of 10/2 for a 6 kW KIP when the run is longer than 90 feet.

Why does a sauna heater trip a GFCI?

Finlandia and Harvia both warn about it. Finlandia's FLB manual says that if a GFI is used, "the breaker will trip, and damage could result." The HarviaNA KIP manual says "Using GFI will cause damage to the heater." Sun Home's Nova guides say heating elements of this type "can trip a GFCI device during normal operation." If yours trips, have a licensed electrician check the circuit against the heater's manual.


Your next step

Tonight, photograph your electrical panel and measure from it to where the sauna will stand, for your electrician's list.

Before you shop, take the thirteen measurements in the free planner, which notes the manufacturer specs and code references that apply to each.

Get the free Home Performance Room Planner →

We read the makers' and sellers' documents cited above, checked October 2026, and did not test these saunas or heaters. This is general information, not electrical or code advice, so follow your model's installation instructions and have a licensed electrician do the work. Home Performance Guide earns a commission on our SaunaKits, Select Saunas, Topture, Sun Home and SaunaCloud links, at no extra cost to you. Other makers' links, and Sun Home's own documents and product pages, earn us nothing (affiliate disclosure, editorial standards).

Get the Room Planner.

Thirteen measurements to take before you buy sauna or recovery equipment, with the manufacturer specs and code references behind each one. Free. Planning a golf simulator instead? There is a twelve-measurement golf planner too.

ABOUT

Verified buyer guides for home sauna, cold plunge and recovery equipment. Specs from the manufacturers, not from other blogs.